HD Kumaraswamy Swearing-In As Karnataka CM Tomorrow: Big Guns Of Indian Politics On The Guest List

HD Kumaraswamy Swearing-In As Karnataka CM Tomorrow: Big Guns Of Indian Politics On The Guest List

HD Kumaraswamy Swearing-In As Karnataka CM Tomorrow: Big Guns Of Indian Politics On The Guest List

Bengaluru: Chief Minister-designate HD Kumaraswamy of Janata Dal (Secular) will take oath as the chief minister of Karnataka on May 23 in Bengaluru. The Congress-JD(S) alliance crossed several hurdles to stake claims to form the government in the state after a high-voltage drama after the election results were declared on May 15. The swearing-in ceremony will be a high-profile affair.

Almost all Opposition leaders are invited. JD(S) partner in election Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Mayawati will attend the ceremony tomorrow. Mayawati has hit out at the Bharatiya Janata Party on May 19 and said that the money-power is not helpful. She had asked the party to take a lesson from Karnataka elections.

Mayawati’s rival in UP and another former chief minister and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav will also be in attendance. Yadav has aligned with the Congress in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election in 2017. Congress chairperson Sonia and president Rahul Gandhi will also be present during the event. HDK met the two leaders yesterday in New Delhi.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who was one of the first ones to extend the merry wishes to the JD(S) Karnataka chief is also invited and will be attending the event in Bengaluru. The West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who has been meeting the Opposition leaders frequently and reportedly pulling strings to form a ‘federal front’ against the BJP, has also accepted the invitation and will be in Bengaluru tomorrow to attend the swearing-in of Kumaraswamy.

Bihar’s former deputy chief minister and son of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)’s son Tejashwi Yadav will also be attending the event. RJD has been a staunch critic of the BJP government, who have aligned with Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) JD(U) in Bihar after the fallout of RJD-JD(U) coalition.

The southern states parties barring Tamil Nadu’s AIADMK and chief minister K Palaniswami will also be in attendance. Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, who’s party Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M) is engaged in a tussle with the RSS workers in the state.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, who has pulled out of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) as the Centre was unable to live up to its promise of special status to the state and its people, is also likely to be joining the other leaders in Bengaluru. Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao and his son KT Rama Rao are also invited for the swearing-in ceremony.

From Tamil Nadu, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) acting president MK Stalin and actor-turned-politician Kamal Haasan will also be attending the event tomorrow.

Tejkaran Harsh

leave a comment

Create Account

Log In Your Account

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar