Google I/O 2018: Watch the keynote live tonight at 10:30PM

Google I/O 2018 kicks off tonight at 10:00 a.m. PT — 1:00 p.m. ET / 6:00 p.m. CET / 10:30 p.m. IST, with a keynote speech by Google CEO Sundar Pichai at the Shoreline Amphitheatre in Mountain View, California.

Here’s how the event can be seen live

1. The keynote can be seen on the Google I/O Website.

2. One can tune in to watch the event live on the Google Developers You Tube Channel.

The annual developer conference is bound to outline Android treats that tech enthusiasts have been anticipating for weeks.
The expected focal points include:-

Android P

Last year it was Android Oreo, so it’s likely that this edition of the event will bring the next UI from Google that developers have been previewing since March, which still goes by the name Android P. Since each new version of the mobile OS is named after something sweet (donuts, jelly beans, lollipops, etc.), many have tried to come with the potential new name, one of the possibilities linked to Google’s release of its Spring wallpapers featuring — popsicles.

Android TV

A next generation of Chromecast may be sitting the stage. A recently leaked FCC filing shows that a 4K Android TV dongle is in the works.

Wear OS

Earlier this year Android Wear became Wear OS, and on May 9, Google will introduce its latest developments, explain the new product features and teach developers the “best practices to create Wear OS apps.”

Google Assistant

With Google Home speakers becoming more globally available and the Assistant now being compatible with over 1,500  major-brand smart-home products and partnered with big players such as Spotify, Pandora, CBS, Netflix — the brand is a strong contender with Amazon’s Alexa. Therefore the brand’s voice-driven “Assistant” will get a lot of attention in the next two days with the hopes to further grow its compatibilities, possibilities and portfolios.

Chrome OS

The buzz around tablets, especially those using Android, seems to have faded in the last couple of years, however there are still people using them, especially now with the latest trend of stylus.

Android Auto

Android Auto has been steadily growing since 2015 and is continuing to do so, with upcoming sessions at Google I/O to “discuss why automotive is a crucial area for developers, and show an exciting preview of what’s ahead.” Some are predicting that Google Assistant will get involved, as the company announced “voice functions for Android Auto” coming soon back in January, according to The Verge.

debamitasamajdar

leave a comment

Create Account



Log In Your Account



%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar