Celebration of Rajasthan Diwas 2018

Rajasthan diwas is a state celebration; it is celebrated to the foundation of the Indian state of Rajasthan. Rajasthan was formed after the merging of major princely states of the Rajputana region; 30th March 1949 is the official date for the formation of Rajasthan state. The formation of Rajasthan state was completed in 7 stages; initially, it was named as “Matsya Sangh”.
The seven stages of formation of the Indian state of Rajasthan are:
Stage I: In first stage princely states of Alwar, Bharatpur, Dholpur & Karauli were merged to form a state which was named as “Matsya Sangh”; here government of India used the special powers to merge these states as rulers of these princely states were allegedly involved in anti-national activities. However, this union was the foundation stone for the formation of Rajasthan. In order to take care of these new territories, officials were appointed by the government of India.
Stage II: In second stage princely states of Kota, Tonk, Bundi, Jhalawar, Banswara, Dungarpur, Kishangarh, Shahpura & Pratapgarh were merged; this merger was completed on 25th March 1948. Ruler of Kota Maharaja Maharao Bheem Singh ji was appointed as the head of state; he was given the designation of Rajpramukh.
Stage III: Appointment of the ruler of Kota as the head of state bought disappointment for the ruler of Bundi state as in relation ruler of Bundi Maharao Bahadur Singh was the elder brother of the ruler of Kota Maharaj Maharao Bheem Singh. Working under younger brother was the main cause of Maharao Bahadur Singh’s disappointment; this resulted into the merging of mighty Udaipur state as Maharo Bahadur Singh convinced Maharana Bhupal Singh (the ruler of Udaipur) to merge his state in Rajasthan union & eventually Maharao Bahadur Singh succeeded. On 18th April 1948, Udaipur was merged into Rajasthan union & Maharana Bhupal Singh was designated as the Rajpramukh of Rajasthan & Maharaja Maharao Bheem Singh was designated as Deputy Rajpramukh.
Stage IV: Because of the geographical, economical & cultural importance the merger of big states like Jaipur, Jodhpur, Jaisalmer & Bikaner was must for the successful merger process, hence government of India focused on these states. Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel the then home minister of India played a key role in the merger of these big states in India; on 30th March 1949 these states were merged in India & Rajasthan state was formed. The formal function of this merger was inaugurated by Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel. The date 30th March is observed as the official date for the formation of the Indian state of Rajasthan.
Stage V: On 15th April 1949 the formal merging of Matsya Sangh in Rajasthan state was carried out by the government of India.
Stage VI: On 26th January 1950, the princely state of Sirohi was merged in Rajasthan state. The ruler of Sirohi was juvenile at the time of merger hence an agency headed by the Queen of Dovagarh carried out the whole procedure. However, the issue of Abu-Delwara tehsil was still existing.
Stage VII: On 1st November 1950, after a great pressure from the people of Rajasthan Abu-Delwara tehsil was merged into Sirohi district of the Indian state of Rajasthan from then greater Bombay state. This was the final stage of the merger procedure of Rajputana region in the Republic of India.
Every year a state level celebration is organized by the state government of Rajasthan; an array of cultural program is organized across the state but the center of the celebration is the capital city of Jaipur. Special decoration of government buildings, palaces & tourist places are done; the celebration is carried out from 27th March to 30th March every year. Celebrity nights are also organized; this festival serves as the international platform for the folk artists. The main purpose of this celebration is to introduce the glorious history, beautiful architecture & lovely folk culture of Rajasthan.


leave a comment

Create Account

Log In Your Account

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar